How to get started in RE investing with ~$50k - Posted by REnewbie

Posted by REnewbie on March 13, 2006 at 19:13:23:

Thanks John-actually your response to Larry on flipping vs rentals was a help also on the “bigger picture”…

How to get started in RE investing with ~$50k - Posted by REnewbie

Posted by REnewbie on March 13, 2006 at 12:55:28:

Help! I have been looking at franchising opportunities to start my own business. I have roughly 50k cash and would have to finance up to another $130k. I have spent months in due diligence with franchisees, etc. But considering this investment and the return, not to mention my much higher interest in real estate investing, I am wondering what the best way for me to get started in/consider real estate investing. I am an accounting major, have great access to “fix-up” help in the family and love doing it, great credit. However, I have no real estate background. I have owned two of my own houses and have read all the popular books like “flipping properties”, “buy it, fix it, sell it”, etc but I would think finding a mentor would be critical? I basically have start-up capital, have the will to work (80hrs/wk is not unheard of for my current corp career)and am well read-but what is best way to begin to get some “real world” experience and get started applying the reading/sweat equity? Flipping, rentals, combos? I am in the midwest (NE Indiana) in somewhat slow market (as compared by U.S. averages/appreciation figures). I am very familiar with the area. What are some tips to get started or any recommendations of flipping over renting, etc.? Thanks in advance…great website…

Re: How to get started in RE investing with ~$50k - Posted by Bill

Posted by Bill on March 13, 2006 at 13:30:34:

First of all I am new also. I haven’t yet completed my first deal although I am almost there.