Huge Rolls in the Floor - What Could They Be? - Posted by Garry (OH)

Posted by Tony-VA/NC on September 20, 2004 at 20:07:28:

You may have to add some bracing underneath so that all of your new floor edges rest on a brace but other than that you have it.

Tony

ps. You may be unpleasantly suprised how much water an intact underbelly can hold!

Huge Rolls in the Floor - What Could They Be? - Posted by Garry (OH)

Posted by Garry (OH) on September 20, 2004 at 18:17:51:

I’m just starting out in this business. I’ve seen a number of homes but haven’t bought anything yet, although, if my current negotiations go well, I could have something soon.

One of the homes I’m looking at (no where near making an offer on this one) is a late 80’s 14x70. It needs work. However, I am perplexed about a particular defect that it has. There are huge rolls in the floor at three separate and widely spread locations. They are full width and lie perpendicular to the longitudinal axis. Each is about 18 inches in width and about 3 to 4 inches high at the crest. As you walk down the trailer you walk up and over the hill! The owner installed new trailer width flooring at one end with one of the rolls “built in”, so it is clear that whatever is underneath has this contour. I’m not sure if they put in a second layer of flooring which followed a warped underfloor or if the frame underneath had adopted this contour. Eying the trailer from the outside does not reveal any clues.

I’m going to take another look inside to see if I can figure out what is going on. I can’t believe that it is a general set up problem because the rolls have a very short “wavelength”. On the other hand I could envisage that the sub floor is fitted so tight that upon the addition of moisture the floor expanded and heaved in locations where the attachment to the frame was marginal.