Insurance/Asset Protection - Posted by JPiper

Posted by chris on May 22, 1999 at 16:17:38:

I’m no expert but those that are use such a thing. They tell me it works great . …If something happens to a person on the front lawn ( for exalmple ) of a property that uses such a legal device , it can take up to five years or longer to determine who the owner is. How does one get a judgment from the owner of a property if one can’t determine who the owner is? After five years or so many things can change… . If one gets into a car accident & is gets a judgment against them & then has to go under a debtors examination, one has to tell the truth under oath @ that point… But if the benificial intrests are LLCs or LLPs , then that person will not be ruined. Insurance generally will not cover some of these huge judgments that we’ve all seen. …Again I’m no expert , but those that are , ( " owners " of hundreds of rental houses each - among other things ) swear by the use of land trusts when properly implemented w/LLCs , LLPs , COs & whatever else their lawers can dream up.

Insurance/Asset Protection - Posted by JPiper

Posted by JPiper on May 21, 1999 at 15:00:29:

I’m in the process of changing the way I hold title to some of my properties to focus more attention on asset protection. My plan is to title properties in an individual land trust which will read as follows: XXX Trust by It’s Trustee, YYY, Inc. The beneficiary of each trust will be an LLC (which will be formed by the way using Bill Bronchick’s LLC course, a good course in my opinion.)

In light of these changes in title, I’m having my insurance reevaluated. It appears that I can insure in two different ways. One way is to insure each property according to the name on the deed?.ie XXX Trust by It’s Trustee, YYY, Inc.