Is it just me or is the government practically giving stuff away? - Posted by Ben (NJ)

Posted by tb on May 16, 2000 at 18:51:25:

Hi Sean,

Yes, I have purchased 4 manuals from taxsales.com. Yes, I believe they are worth the money. Yes, the manuals give you a specific strategy for acquiring tax forfeited and tax delinquent properties.

I would also like to state Sean that I have also purchased John Beck`s materials from this site and have found them to be extremely helpful as well.

Good luck!

tb

Is it just me or is the government practically giving stuff away? - Posted by Ben (NJ)

Posted by Ben (NJ) on May 15, 2000 at 19:47:32:

Three events in my life have just converged to lead me to that conclusion. Firstly, I have been doing tax lien foreclosure law for five years and often come across state and federal liens on properties I am foreclosing on. As a matter of routine I join them as defendants, even if there is a chance they may have priority over my lien. I have yet to have the state or federal government challenge my lien, pay it off or even file an answer when I join them as a defendant In other words, they are walking away with their lien interest extinguished, every time! I also just did a subprime loan to an investor who picked up a nice house from the USDA at 65% of market value. Now, I read a post below that says the USDA does not even bother to show up to bid at foreclosure sales where they are the plaintiff. Can this all be coincidence or is our government just letting
money and property go without a fight? As a taxpayer, I am furious, but as an investor I am excited at the prospect. Does anyone specifically target government owned properties as a niche and consistently pick up these bargains?

Re: Is it just me or is the government practically giving stuff away? - Posted by Rob FL

Posted by Rob FL on May 16, 2000 at 08:04:14:

I think the next big opportunity for government real estate will be HUD’s. At least in my area.