Is This Agent Trying to Pull a Fast One? - Posted by VlaDE

Posted by Marc Massis on September 15, 2004 at 09:42:43:

Hi Vlad,

I am a full time licensed Realtor in the state of Virginia - very active in the relocation business. What you described about the Realtors request for compensation is not normal atleast in our market. It should be based on a percentage basis and the realtor will get paid only when there is a closing. Moreover, a one year agency agreement is really too long - not normal. Most I have seen is 6 months. So be careful before you sign anything and interview a few other agent/brokers in your area. I will be happy to refer a reputable broker if you wish. Good luck to you.

Is This Agent Trying to Pull a Fast One? - Posted by VlaDE

Posted by VlaDE on September 14, 2004 at 18:59:11:

I am interviewing a broker/agent in PA (as a buyer agent).

Some red flags:

-Had to ask her 3 times to send me the agreement (twice it was sent without the page addressing compensation - on that in a minute).
-Have been urged all along to “just sign the papers and return to her, so we can get going”
-Agreement is for a full year
-And the kicker: She has a fixed dollar amount ($2,500) as a minimum for received compensation. If the commission collected from seller is below $2,500 I have to foot the difference. And finally, she gets paid whether or not her side was involved in the property acquisition/negotiations!!!

So, I go out, find a motivated seller, arrange everything and write her a check for $2,500? Don’t think so!

Is this something standard, or am I getting my leg pulled here?

Any agents out there care to shed some light?

Input will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks, guys!

-Vlad

WHAT - Posted by E.Eka

Posted by E.Eka on September 16, 2004 at 12:39:26: