Is this reasonable to do ???( Lease Purchase) - Posted by M. Paul Abraham

Posted by JPiper on January 28, 1999 at 13:45:33:

Good point Tim.

After the contracts are signed, the optionee still has to perform. Evaluating any deal needs to take into account possible risks…in the investment world they call it risk-adjusted return.

Very good point, and one that I think needs to be stressed. Things don’t always go as we plan. Taking a careful look at your risks, and whether you are adequately protected AND compensated is extremely important.

JPiper

Is this reasonable to do ???( Lease Purchase) - Posted by M. Paul Abraham

Posted by M. Paul Abraham on January 27, 1999 at 22:28:29:

I am a Loan officer in the Atlanta area and see a lot of customers who have cash to buy but not the ability (Yet).I would like to let these customers go out with a realtor and find a house that they would like, I would then buy that house and lease purchase it back to them.

1. Would this work ?
  2. And if so What would I need to Look Out for?

Any advise would be great , I have one rental already but it was my former house. I like the idea of lease-purchase better than plain rentals

Thanks in Advance!

M. Paul Abraham
Loan Officer

Re: Is this reasonable to do ???( Lease Purchase) - Posted by Tim Pannabecker

Posted by Tim Pannabecker on January 28, 1999 at 12:10:12:

M. Paul,

Your lease option idea is a great idea. With low interest money and an appreciating marketplace the lease option method is excellent. However, I would not buy a property to lease/op unless I was willing to add that property to my portfolio. By that I mean, you are responsible for the mortgage, the optionee may default, and for the people that think the option money will carry you through an eviction of a “professional” tenant - they simply don’t have a clue.