Kitchen Table or Formal Closing? - Posted by NH

Posted by MatthewC on February 13, 2002 at 17:47:08:

If you are uncomfortble of doing a “kitchen table closing”, then don’t do it. It is that simple.

It sounds like to me by the way you are writing and the info you are providing, you are better of doing a standard closing. A “kitchen table closing” is not for you and not recommended.

Kitchen Table or Formal Closing? - Posted by NH

Posted by NH on February 12, 2002 at 16:21:16:

My attorney friend just about has me convinced not to do a kitchen table close on this. (This would be my second deal so I am no expert)

Buying house subject to an assumable mortgage (orig 1985)
Home is in the sellers Family Trust.
Home will be rehabbed and held for approx 6 months.

My friend is no expert in Real Estate but talked to a friend of his that supposedly is a Real Estate Attorney. He said that I would have trouble getting title insurance without a formal closing?

I don’t see why it would prevent title insurance from being issued. Please any comments appreciated.

Do you have any money… - Posted by David Alexander

Posted by David Alexander on February 12, 2002 at 18:07:32:

invested in the deal…

That’s what your risking… I personally don’t get title insurance on subject to deals, unless there is money at stake… I do however have someone that pulls title for me that is competent at reading them… and check the title and the name of the owners… also, the houses we buy have had a policy put on them from when the loan was put in place previously…

I would first learn about titles and how to read them… get some competent help… (there’s a good book out by Brayn whittenmeyer an I can’t think of the name right now, maybe someone else will)

I also still closes at the kitchen table or a local restaraunt…