landlord's rights? - Posted by infinitig35

Posted by infinitig35 on May 04, 2007 at 05:59:07:

Thanks guys for answering my question!

landlord’s rights? - Posted by infinitig35

Posted by infinitig35 on May 03, 2007 at 13:35:19:

Hello all. This is only my second month owning this property which is currently occupied by a long term tenant. She just told me yesterday that she just lost her job last week and she will not have the rent in full. Rent is due on the first of each month, after the 5th there’s a late charge. She said that she’ll have the rest in 2 more weeks. What rights do I have? Should I start charging interest on the remaining balance which is about $50? I’m in southern PA. This is my first time being a landlord so i’m not familiar with the rules.

Don’t be a sucker! - Posted by Ed in Idaho

Posted by Ed in Idaho on May 04, 2007 at 12:42:24:

Now that you got the sugar coated versions you need to hear the cold hard truth. I consider myself to be a nice guy and very easy to get along with, but when it comes to renters, YOU CANNOT BE A BIG ENOUGH AHOLE! I’ll say it again. YOU CANNOT BE A BIG ENOUGH AHOLE. Like Russ and Rich said if you start on a pattern with renters it will only get worse.