legal challenges to florida property tax law - Posted by Paul

Posted by Paul on September 12, 2005 at 09:36:08:

How do I go about starting such a challenge? What kind of expense would be involved?

legal challenges to florida property tax law - Posted by Paul

Posted by Paul on August 26, 2005 at 08:22:48:

Hi,

I own a house in Florida. However, I am a resident of NY. Florida residents passed a “save our homes” section as part of their constitution. This allows their property tax to increase by a maximum of 3% per year. Non resident property owners are getting yearly increases from 15 to 30%. How can this be challenged?

Re: legal challenges to florida property tax law - Posted by abstract

Posted by abstract on September 11, 2005 at 22:40:36:

Maybe a suit under equal protection of the law, seems you might be able to make a case on two classes being treated differently?

Re: legal challenges to florida property tax law - Posted by STEVE

Posted by STEVE on August 30, 2005 at 12:50:08:

You could do yourself a favor an become a Florida resident. But the weather here is terrible, the bugs are the size of small cats and the Hurricanes are a problem. Also some residents do not like obnoxious people.
You must have purchased the house in Florida for some reason. Maybe you like to get out of that sh*tty NY weather. Therefore stop complaiming and either become a Florida resident or pay the taxes. OR sell and rent went you come to Florida.
Just my opinion as a Florida resident of over 20 yaers, after moving from the cold, dark, 3 day long summers of NY.

Re: legal challenges to florida property tax law - Posted by Tom-FL

Posted by Tom-FL on August 27, 2005 at 19:46:21:

You could sell it and then buy in an area that doesn’t appreciate so fast. I hear that in Detroit, the tax bill goes DOWN each year, along with the value of the property.

Re: legal challenges to florida property tax law - Posted by dealmaker

Posted by dealmaker on August 26, 2005 at 16:04:14: