MLS - Posted by Mike

Posted by Tim Fierro (Tacoma, WA) on March 07, 2002 at 23:22:19:

Sometimes I forget, I am an agent. However, you can get access without the license with our local MLS. It requires a field in real estate of course and has conditions, but for the most part, it is used by those who have a license to be a real estate agent.

MLS - Posted by Mike

Posted by Mike on March 07, 2002 at 18:51:29:

I see the term MLS kicked around a lot on this site. I know the term means Multiple Listing Service (i think) What ones are everyone using and is this something i should be looking at to get started in REI.

thanks in advance

Re: MLS - Posted by Tim Fierro (Tacoma, WA)

Posted by Tim Fierro (Tacoma, WA) on March 07, 2002 at 19:06:59:

MLS is the generic term, but each area (city/state) may have their own setups. Mine represents most of Washington State and is NWMLS for Northwest Multiple Listing Service. Someone in Atlanta may be AMLS for Atlanta Multiple Listing Service.

It is a regional thing and what systems they use can vary around the country. This would be for how to access, the dues, the keys used, the rules, etc…

Think of it like a club. A bunch of realtors in Seattle have a club and all agents who want access to the systems will pay to be a member. Then let’s say 40 miles away there is a city called Tacoma and they have a club. An agent would join it to get access to it. So if they had a buyer in Seattle where they normally work, but wanted to sell their buyer a home in Tacoma 40 miles away, they need to join that club to get access to what listings may be available.