Mortgage Broker Fees - Posted by Fred(NY)

Posted by JohnBoy on January 28, 1999 at 14:38:37:

Check out this site. And be sure to read the section on “letters”, especially the one to equifax. LOL.

Mortgage Broker Fees - Posted by Fred(NY)

Posted by Fred(NY) on January 28, 1999 at 09:21:23:

What is the typical fee charged by a mortgage broker on a loan. I just recieved a good faith estimate and as usual the numbers are different from what she told be over the phone. A fees that really stands out is 5%(of the loan) commission. This seems pretty high. The advantage of using this broker is that she is FAST. Average turn around on a mortgage loan is 2-3 week from intro to CLOSE. My credit situation is GOOD, Income is GOOD, rate is 9.5% - 10% not that good…

Any comments???

OK, so I’ll ask. What is your definition… - Posted by FJW

Posted by FJW on January 29, 1999 at 10:36:19:

of GOOD? I’m a new mortgage broker in FLA, and I’ve met a lot of potential borrowers who think their credit is good, and perhaps it is, but for various reasons, their credit score is low, which no matter how you feel about the issue, is going to dictate the rate counter-offer from the lender. There’s also owner occupation, debt ratios, LTV, and documentation that affect the rate.
Another issue is the amount of the loan. To a lender and a broker, a loan is a loan, same amount of work, big or small. So small loans get hit harder with fees percentage wise because no one’s going to do it for peanuts.

So, yeah, it seems like a lot, but I’ve got to ask: What’s the rest of the story?

FJW

Re: Mortgage Broker Fees - Posted by Laurie

Posted by Laurie on January 28, 1999 at 22:40:08:

Fred,