need advice for potential rental property - Posted by Alex

Posted by John on March 07, 2006 at 05:30:16:

Try posting this on the commercial board.

The thing I see here is it appears you are streaching to get into this. Consider the “What if’s” Where are your reserves?

need advice for potential rental property - Posted by Alex

Posted by Alex on March 06, 2006 at 23:22:38:

Hi Folks,

I’m a newbie and I really need advice to how to both structure the deal to my advantage and hear people’s opinion on the deal. Will see the property on Sat. Didn’t have a chance to pre-screen the owner by phone. Property is a FSBO but is listed with a local mortgage broker that lists various FSBO for a negligible fee and it doesn’t put it on MLS, but does send the seller pre-qualified buyers.

It’s a 6 family in Union City, NJ, and has an asking price of $545k, and I’m assuming it needs work, because most 6 family houses in the North East have been pushing over $600k from all the listings I’ve seen and in this hot seller’s market, I’ve even seen 4 family houses at a ridicolous $535 price. Property is very well located, in a good shopping area and near public transportation. Local rents are $858 for a 2 bedroom to $1,400 for a very high end 2 bedroom in pristine condition. The avg rent is $1,100/month typically.

The numbers below are very preliminary and I"ll know exact numbers shortly. The property taxes are $8,000/yr, insurance is $4,000 per year, and water and sewer is about $1,500/yr. The heat and power is fully segmented across all apartments, so tenants pay their own utils. The total operating expense on the property is about $20-$23k per year assuming a $5,000 cash reserve for repair related expenses. So, without mortgage expenses, property has about $1,600/month in fixed expenses.