New investor in MI - Posted by Keith

Posted by Jeff Neville on May 31, 1999 at 18:41:44:

Keith - I also am a new investor, also in Michigan. I too have been studying courses and trying to learn… I honestly think that there is an awful lot of knowledge right here at this site that can answer many questions. I hope that someone here with alot more experience than me will post a response, because I don’t like the phone much either! Good luck. Jeff

New investor in MI - Posted by Keith

Posted by Keith on May 31, 1999 at 03:43:02:

Hi!

I’m currently studying the Carleton Sheets course and have also studied MANY books on the subject a few years ago, not to mention taking the Ed Beckley No Down Payment course several years ago–and letting all this knowledge collect dust. Ugh! Fear is the thing that always stopped me. When I approached the phone to “make some calls” on the ads I had circled, I tightened up and felt weak and out of my element. But the books and tapes said to “push through the fear” and “make those calls!”, so I did. I still never enjoyed it much, but it did get a LITTLE easier after a while, but I wasn’t always the smoothest at it cuz I was usually nervous and unsure–even though I was studying ALL THE TIME and really had laid a good foundation by that point. Semmed no matter how much I studied the books and listened to the tapes, when I got on the phone with a real live seller, it all went south (or much of it), and I couldn’t think quickly on my toes and got a little lost. Sellers or realtors were always asking me questions that I couldn’t answer, or asking me to explain what I meant by something, and sometimes I couldn’t. So I walked away feeling very unprepared (no matter how much I studied!) and silly.