Offers and momentum - Posted by Alex

Posted by phil fernandez on December 31, 1999 at 16:46:56:

Alex,

There is no formula as to how much to offer. Every property is different and the motivation level of each seller, whether it a bank or individual, can vary. The motivation of one seller can change over time.

Do your homework on value and what you can pay for a particular property and stick to your guns. Don’t let a realtor sway you to up your offer if you feel it is not in your best interest. Remember, realtors get paid to sell properties. For all you know the realtor who said that there are other investors and the bank would not accept anything less than $125,000, could not exactly be telling the truth. Hey they’re realtors.

Offers and momentum - Posted by Alex

Posted by Alex on December 31, 1999 at 14:42:53:

I am a rookie to the business and have been trying to create a little momemtum for making offers and getting one accepted. However, I seem to be somewhat apprehensive on what amounts to offer on any given property and possibly paying to much or offering to little and not having a chance. Ex: My wife and I made an offer on a house that fixed upped, would have resold for approximately $150,000. We offered $100,000 and close when the bank wanted to. The Realtor said that the bank he was representing would look at nothing less than $125,000 at the moment and that he had other investors coming to look tommarow (today) and that it would probably be gone by the weekend.

I realize that this is his job to get as much for the property as possible but I guess I would like some input on, is there a common rule of thumb for making offers, possibly a formula of sorts or is it a question of throwing a whole bunch against the wall and see what sticks as long as I am in control?

Thanks for your time and energy.
This web site has inspired me to go after a life long dream.

HAPPY NEW YEAR, MANY CLOSED DEALS AND MOST IMPORTANTLY HAPPINESS!!!