owner financing - Posted by MIKE

Posted by winston on April 16, 2002 at 12:54:23:

Hi All,

I would have to say that if the owner is going to be placed in a nursing home, you may be able to save this asset by having the owner carry a mortgage. From some research I did before,I think a nursing home can only attach the income of a installment sale while the patient resides. Usually a monthly stay is 5-7k per month, so a short stay will easily deplete this asset. Of course, I am not a lawyer but I’m just putting this out there as apossible way you can help this poor soul from losing everything under title 19! I would speak to the owner’s lawyer and see if this is a win-win for you and the owner’s estate.

owner financing - Posted by MIKE

Posted by MIKE on April 15, 2002 at 20:46:16:

Interested in a single detached family house, also zoned commercial. Asking price is $118,000. During a visit to the property today with the listed agent, the Owner revealed that he might accept about $80,000 (he thought I was working with the agent; the situation was however corrected but I already had the inside information).Property needs a facelift-new bathroom, kitchen, carpeting and electrical upgrade. Owner is going to a nursing home after the sale.
I intend to use the property as my primary residence and part for my new advertising business.
SITUATION: My credit is very bad and don’t think I will get a mortgage at this time. How do I structure this deal so that the seller will finance (carry the mortgage) for about 12 months with interest only payments? During this time I plan to re-finance the mortgage for about $100,000, pay the seller his $80,000 and fix the property: or finish straightening up my credit and be able to secure a mortgage. The property is listed with a real estate agent.
Please help with any ideas.

Re: owner financing - Posted by Tim Fierro (Tacoma, WA)

Posted by Tim Fierro (Tacoma, WA) on April 16, 2002 at 01:22:56: