Partial Rent Payments - Posted by John

Posted by William Bronchick on February 05, 2002 at 09:37:48:

This is a quite a long Q, and unfortunately, we don’t have time to answer stuff like this in full.

However, the general answer is that partial rent payments mean the rent is not paid, which means the tenant must pay a late fee (if in the lease) and may be in default.

Partial Rent Payments - Posted by John

Posted by John on February 03, 2002 at 03:11:39:

What happens when a tenant submits partial rent payments? I am new to investing and am unsure how to proceed with a problem I inherited.

I have a tenant in a building in CA that I recently purchased that claims his rent should not be in the amount on the records. I claim it is a partial payment. The records show a lease expiration at the end of October and therefore the rental went from $940/month to the month-to-month rate of $1105 (New leases are $1020/month). (The tenant produced a copy of a letter (not found in the files)claiming he had made several attempts to speak to the former property manager about extending the 9 month lease to 12 months (because of recent job loss and hardship) but was rebuffed by an assistant.

A three day notice was given on January 15 for shortages in November, December and January. The tenant continued to pay the old amount of $940.

1.) The tenant claims the lack of a negative response to the letter means approval of his proposal.

2.) The tenant claims that he should have been notified before of previous shortages if his proposal was not accepted and therefore he assumed it had and no partial payment was made. (no notices were given prior to January 15)