Please don't hate me but... - Posted by Rushtopher

Posted by Jeffrey Short on March 10, 2000 at 13:00:10:

Rushtopher,

Like you, I am a newbie also. However, I might be able to help you with your questions.

1. You will probably need some money for the things that you mentioned. However, what if you sold a home “as is” and it was a simultaneous close? Any title fees would be taken out of the funds left after you paid your seller…and the rest would go to you. (Ok, that’s a simplistic explanation, but its basically true).

2)Usually when people talk about their deals here, they take into account the closing costs. If they rehabbed the home, they will take that also into effect.

1. Don’t know…

2. I would definitely have a lawyer, especially since it is your first deal.

3. I wouldn’t say that it is “that easy.” However, realize that you may be able to get buyers from the original seller. How? What if they wanted to have owner/seller-financing and the original seller refused? If you have a way to sell the note for cash, you could step in… offer the buyer to owner-finance, and the rest is history.

Maybe the original seller is offering simply too much for the home – of course, you wouldn’t offer that much… but you would wait to see if the person become motivated enough to drop the price (or to accept your offer).

Hope this helps – and I hope you get some other opinions on this.

Jeff

Please don’t hate me but… - Posted by Rushtopher

Posted by Rushtopher on March 10, 2000 at 12:04:28:

I have some questions about flipping properties/contract.
I know this is a common newbie (that’s me) question,
so please direct me to where I can learn this if you’ve
already answered it. FYI I’ve read all the archives I can
find and all the how to articles. On to my questions:

1. Where does the money come from? I know you don’t need
    any money for the house, but what about for a handyman to
    estimate the repair cost, for advertising, for title