Pre-Foreclosure Flip Advice Needed...... - Posted by L.A.

Posted by L.A. on May 12, 1999 at 05:35:11:

Thanks John & Bill !

Pre-Foreclosure Flip Advice Needed… - Posted by L.A.

Posted by L.A. on May 11, 1999 at 10:31:20:

I just got a “hot tip” from a loan officer who couldn’t help their client refinance their home.

I figure…I will tie the property up & then resell it on a land contract or lease option…I will need to collect enough to catch up the back payments plus penalties…which at this point is five months.

The monthly payment is only $490 per month for a 3/2 in a decent neighborhood…it’s a custom built house.

I have never done a “pre-forclosure” deal before…so ANY ADVICE…that ANYBODY will be willing to share with me…will be put to use…FAST !!!

Thanks in advance !

Re: Pre-Foreclosure Flip Advice Needed… - Posted by John Bulik

Posted by John Bulik on May 11, 1999 at 21:10:25:

I agree with Bill. It pays to get all the right information regarding the sale date and all the costs regarding the property.
If the election and demand has been filed with the public trustee (assuming that’s how it is done in you area), then in addition to the back payments there are attorneys fees and trustee fees, for us the additional costs has been averaging $3k. That would put clean-up costs on the deal you are looking at roughly $5,500.
I also research the clerk and recorder for any other liens the owners forget to tell me about.
We do enough of these where our title company will give us title searches for free. I don’t trust these as we have had it happen more than once where they missed something that came back to bite us. A better bet is to get the title company to give a title commitment on the property in question (they will do it for nothing if you ask). This will also get you out of buying title insurance on the front end and the title work is paid for when you sell. Make sure you use the same title company when you sell.

John Bulik