Property search, is it a secret? - Posted by Kenny

Posted by Kenny on March 31, 2006 at 21:29:41:

CC me on that email please? I would love to hear more!

Property search, is it a secret? - Posted by Kenny

Posted by Kenny on March 30, 2006 at 18:58:15:

I’m a newbie and was wondering if a few people would like to share with me the possible ways/best ways to find flip properties? Is this a closely guarded secret or what? I have read many books, but I’m just wondering what really works and what dosen’t coming from people that have actually done it and recently too. Thanks is advance for your help!

Re: Property search, is it a secret? - Posted by Charles Parrish

Posted by Charles Parrish on March 30, 2006 at 23:11:21:

Flipping is no secret. It is done all the time, it is a very basic method that works when all the right things are done in the proper order.

1. Call sellers; negotiate a price that is well below market value.
  2. Use clauses that give you control, right to market by private treaty or public auction before settlement, use banking days, right to extend, third party assignment. Delay settlement, right of possession
  3. Make all necessary disclosures.
  4. If necessary offer a “Hybrid” contract.
  5. Call a GOOD AUCTIONEER.
  6. Sell the property (contract) at auction, assign the contract.
  7. Collect the spread at settlement.

That’s it! I own a real estate auction company in Maryland; we sell about 500 properties a year at auction. 70% of these are assignment deals.

This system takes time, skills and perseverance. I have seen young investors make $20,000 - $100,000 per transaction.

Charles

Re: Property search, is it a secret? - Posted by dutch

Posted by dutch on March 30, 2006 at 21:43:13:

It’s called marketing. Sitting by the phone won’t make it ring. Spend some cash to get the word out that you buy houses. The more you spend, the more the phone rings.

Re: Property search, is it a secret? - Posted by Pat