PROS AND CONS OF BEING A REAL ESTATE AGENT - Posted by COURT

Posted by Rob FL on January 19, 1999 at 11:40:47:

Good point. I offer on HUD and VA repos with no commission to myself and therefore increase their net.

The continuing education is not too bad. I have done all mine through correspondance from my own home. No classes to attend.

PROS AND CONS OF BEING A REAL ESTATE AGENT - Posted by COURT

Posted by COURT on January 17, 1999 at 23:25:55:

WHAT DO SOME OF YOU SEE AS BEING THE PROS AND CONS FOR BEING A REAL ESATE INVESTOR, AND A REAL ESTATE AGENT AT THE SAME TIME? ARE THERE CERTAIN THINGS YOU CANNOT DO IF YOU ARE AN AGENT? I AM A VERY NEW AGENT AND WOULD LIKE TO START INVESTING AND AM JUST TRYING TO GATHER AS MUCH INFO AS POSSIBLE. ME AND MY FATHER HAVE BOUGHT, FIXED UP AND SOLD A FEW HOMES, THAT IS WHY I BECAME A REALTOR, SO THAT I COULD MAKE MONEY FROM THE PURCHASE RIGHT OFF THE BAT, YET AFTER DOING A LITTLE RESEARCH(LIKE FINDING THIS SITE) I AM LEARNING THERE ARE MANY MORE WAYS TO MAKE THE $ WITHOUT AS MUCH TIME AND HASSLE. PLEASE LET ME PICK SOME BRAINS AND LEARN. ALSO WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHAT SOME OF YOU THINK WOULD BE THE BEST LEARNING MATERIAL TO PURCHASE FIRST!! THANK YOU

Pros and Cons - Posted by Rob FL

Posted by Rob FL on January 18, 1999 at 18:56:49:

Here are some:

Pros:
easier and more efficient access to the MLS

easier to make appointments when it only involves you (without a realtor you have to meet at the property)

save money on commissions both when you buy and when you sell

allows you access to much of the information and benefits that the realtor’s give out for being a member (law changes and updates, real estate news updates, legal hotline, group insurance rates and I hear a national 401(k) type plan may be in the works, realtor’s store with all the forms and signs, lockbox keys, etc.)

Cons:

held out to be an expert by a court of law

extra disclosure requirements