Ray's insights on these 2 choices - Posted by Mike S

Posted by Mike S. on May 31, 2009 at 15:53:44:

When you sell, you have 45 days from the closing date to identify up to 3 properties. You then have 180 days from the closing date to close on one of those 3 choices. In my case I would pay capital gains on the gain as well as the depreciation recapture dating back to a previous property I owned prior to the one I just sold. (because I did a 1031 exchange at that time) If I buy one of the 3 that I identified…No capital gains.

I have no experience with flips so perhaps another can answer your question better, but I understand flips are taxed as ordinary income due to the short term hold. (flippers please correct me) I’m not sure if there is a way to shelter the income, but with the long term holds that I do, you have to move into a “like kind” property. No stocks, bonds etc.

Thats all I have.

Mike S.

P.S. Thanks again to Ray for answering my questions in detail. It’s good to get input from a pro.

Ray’s insights on these 2 choices - Posted by Mike S

Posted by Mike S on May 19, 2009 at 20:54:37:

I have 800G in a 1031 escrow account. Looking at 2 deals, one is a absolute NNN auto repair building with a regional company. The other is a partnership with a reputable developer rezoning and developing an obsolete building into a multi use/Independent living facility in a retirement community.

The auto repair buisness has a 10 year corporate guarantee and comes in at a 8.5 cap, however the financials don’t look very strong to me. They have been in business for 30 years and have over 30 locations that they franchise out.(they dont actually operate any of their locations) I haven’t seen any of their franchisee’s go dark that I know of.