realesate agents - Posted by derick

Posted by Ed Copp (OH) on March 28, 2002 at 21:02:26:

Now let me explain a bit. I am a broker in my state, that would be the business owner that hires, or more correctly associates with agents. The real estate business is no different than any other business, and is subject to the 80/20 rule. That means that 20% of the agents most likely do 80% of the business. The other 80% of the agents out there are often inexperienced. Many times they are part-time agents. Very often they do not know a good deal when it comes along. So if you do know a good deal when you see one, this could be to your advantage.

If you look at the real estate market you will notice that there are a lot of properties for sale at any given time. Many are represented by agents. There must be a good deal out there at most any given time, the trick is to find it. You might accomplish this by working with a good agent.

In your post you mention pricing. The agent does NOT set the price of the listing. The listed price is set by the seller. The agent can NOT change the price, only the seller can do that. The agent can take an offer for a different price to the seller, and it will be up to the seller to accept, or reject the offer. The seller may counter the offer, with another offer. Hopefully this will help you out, some.

realesate agents - Posted by derick

Posted by derick on March 27, 2002 at 09:34:59: