Realistic plan? - Posted by Rick

Posted by Rick on March 07, 2002 at 15:47:34:

I don’t know what the best way is but I’m planning on buying a CD from dataquick.

Realistic plan? - Posted by Rick

Posted by Rick on March 06, 2002 at 16:55:08:

I?m pretty much a newbie here ? you people who put your time into this site are amazing, I?ve already learned a lot.

I own a few properties as rentals ? just houses that we lived in for a while, moved and bought another one and held on. But, I?d like to add some more properties to the stable. I?ve been toying with some ideas for a while and see some of them talked about on this site so I thought I?d run this by you folks with experience and see if you?d tell me what you think.

I?m in a major metropolitan area and properties in my area run about 350k to start. My thought has been to mail to out of area landlords and offer to take on their rental and continue to provide an income to them through a L/O or installment sale or something similar. Will help them defer taxes, remove headaches, and allow me to buy something with nothing down.

Most folks here on the site seem to want to buy and flip, I want to buy and hold, but I don?t want to use my cash to accumulate a few more properties ? SFR?s, or even better, units. And I don?t want to take on a negative cash flow which seems to be necessary if you purchase through the normal channels.

My main question is: Is it realistic to start a mailing program to out of area owners and be able to put together some deals like this, or do I need to pursue another direction? Would these folks be a source of deals that I could put together, nothing down, positive cash flow rentals, especially in a high priced market like Southern California?

I did just buy Joe Kaiser?s Ultimate L/O course but haven?t received it. It seems to cover the exact type of things I was thinking of doing.

Thanks for any input!

Re: Realistic plan? - Posted by Ronald * Starr(in No CA)