Reniging on a verbal Agreement. - Posted by annette

Posted by DD on December 13, 1999 at 12:04:02:

You do not need earnest money to make a contract enforceable. The property and the purchase price represent the consideration. Earnest money is simply a means that realtors primarily use to keep the buyer from backing out of the deal. The contract does need to be in writing though.

Reniging on a verbal Agreement. - Posted by annette

Posted by annette on December 13, 1999 at 09:27:11:

I have a piece of property that I have verbally made a deal on with owner. I would like to assign it to another investor or flip it to get a nice profit. The asking price for the sfr was $80,000 with cma’s of $70-100,000. The house needs no work and is in a middle class neighborhood. I verbally offered the owners $70,000 for the house. Unfortunately because I am new to this business I did not realize that you can go to the county clerks office and gather information on the mortgage on properties. I found that the owner only paid $44,000 for this house back in ‘84’ and yes she has done work in the house, but not that much work. I want to offer her 10,000 less than what we discussed prior. She is motivated and the house is vacant and has been onthe market since April of this year. It has had very little movement which I believe is due to the Realator that was suppose to be marketing the house and the $ amount. Should I make another offer or is this unethical and unprofessional. If so, how should I present this to the seller?

In need of WISDOM!

Annette

Re: Reniging on a verbal Agreement. - Posted by Katie

Posted by Katie on December 15, 1999 at 10:24:24:

There’s a saying “Pigs feed, hogs starve” It means that it’s okay to get a little greedy, but if you’re too greedy then you don’t deserve to eat at all.
Gosh, if she had bought the house in the sixties, she probably would have paid less that 10k for it; then you could lower the bid to what 15k.