Should I take FREE Mobile Homes? - Posted by David G

Posted by Don NY on August 13, 2002 at 06:12:47:

I am just starting out and doing my third “free” deal in the same park. first two were free next one was $100

Should I take FREE Mobile Homes? - Posted by David G

Posted by David G on August 12, 2002 at 19:00:00:

I just called a MH broker who mails all MH owners in parks a “Thinking of selling? I’ve sold more MH than anyone! …” letter.

I asked him if he ever buys MH and he said “No way! And be responsible for the space rent? Not me.”

Then he says, “There have been a couple of people whose MH I listed and they walked away from their listings. The market is pretty bad - it took 6 months to get rid of a '85 1500sqft for $7000. (A lot of people who own newer homes are $15k upside-down and many walk away.) I know of some single wides in 3 different parks that the managers will give away - for FREE - they just want the space rents. Problem is, the space rents are around $535 per month.”

Is this one of the cases where “It doesn’t work where I live…”?

I’m just looking for hope and all suggestions and recommendations on how to make this work.

Help.

David G.

Re: Should I take FREE Mobile Homes? - Posted by Karl (Oh)

Posted by Karl (Oh) on August 12, 2002 at 21:15:57:

There are a couple mobile home brokers (real estate agents) in my area. They?re a joke. They can?t sell any homes here, either. And their signs are everywhere. They see a FSBO sign in a window, and get the seller to list their home with them. Then the seller never sees the broker again. At least not until the seller takes the broker?s sign out of the window. Then the broker starts asking if someone owes him a commission. This is the same story I hear over and over from sellers.