Should I try and help elderly Lady? - Posted by Brian

Posted by js-Indianapolis on September 09, 2003 at 24:57:46:

I’ve seen that before, and remember it often as I go throughout my RE activities. There are many who I simply cannot help (foreclosuree with a 125% LTV with a second, and other multiple liens on a house that would never cashflow.) It only takes a minute to give them a little knowledge of how they may help themselves, and some encouragement. Now, whether they do anything with that is up to them. I feel like I’ve at least done something to help them.

Now, who first was credited for that saying?

Should I try and help elderly Lady? - Posted by Brian

Posted by Brian on September 06, 2003 at 16:59:35:

I have a friend at a RE management company. As I am a general contractor, he asked me to give him a rehab cost on a property in his company’s care that had been condemned. I saw no notices, but he showed me the letter from the city, which gave the owner,(a frail older lady) 6 months to correct the situation or face 300.00 per day in fines. In a fit of unbridled greed, (according to my friend)the company’s president has decided to talk the owner into paying them to rehab the property (Which they are unqualified to do, and she is very trusting), and then charging her a listing fee to dump it. In any case, the owner gets severely taken advantage of (it was the negligence of the mgt. company that allowed the property to be condemned in the first place). Initially my friend was gung ho to do whatever was necessary to prevent this from happening, but has to consider his alliances carefully, I’m sure.