Total newbie: Need info about large land deals - Posted by Jennifer

Posted by Joe C. (AR) on July 27, 2005 at 08:09:55:

First, you don’t need to apologize for being a newby. Everyone was at some point. Trying to do what you propose is daunting for someone with no experience. You have several major hurdles.

1. The deal. Raw land can be difficult to finance without seller financing. Check around.

2. Check with a local engineer (surveyor) to determine the development costs. They know the rules and can help you with determining how many lots are feasible to develop. Road frontage is usually an important issue because back land requires access and roads can be expensive. Access to utilities is another major issue. They can also guide you through the process and estimate costs.

3. You need to determing the market for the parcels once subdivided. Sometimes selling the lots can take a while and you have to be able to afford the carrying costs.

The bottom line here is money. This can be a lucrative game but requires access to cash. Maybe a partnership with a realtor, builder, contractor, or investor is is something to investigate.

Just my .02
Joe C. (AR)

Total newbie: Need info about large land deals - Posted by Jennifer

Posted by Jennifer on July 26, 2005 at 19:36:46:

Hi there,

First, I’m going to apologize for my “newbie-ness” and be upfront with all of you and say that I have absolutely no experience in this field. I’m trying to learn more about how to structure a deal for a large parcel of land that could be sub-divided into smaller residential parcels. I estimate that the 40 acres could be divided into approximately 7 parcels because the town it is in requires 5 acres to build a house.