Typical costs for evictions?? - Posted by Mike

Posted by Bill Gatten on May 31, 1999 at 23:40:47:

Sorry… Gawd!

I thought someone had axed a question.

B

Typical costs for evictions?? - Posted by Mike

Posted by Mike on May 30, 1999 at 13:07:35:

Hello.

I have a 3-unit property in NW Indiana. Unfortunately, I have a non-paying tenant that needs to go. I called up a couple of attorneys in the area and I’m getting quotes of around $300 for their services plus court costs. Is this reasonable? Are there any other services out there to assist landlords in getting rid of bad tenants?

I would attempt to evict on my own, except I’ve never done it before and want to make sure I’m covered every step of the way, at least for the first time.

Any suggestions?

Thanks.

Re: Typical costs for evictions?? - Posted by SandyFL

Posted by SandyFL on May 31, 1999 at 10:09:36:

Obviously your cost is going to vary from ours.
My atty quoted me $150, but he offers me a discount because I am a repeat customer and we are both members of the local REI Club. The lowest prices will probably be through your PA’s. But they must be competent and do it properly the first time, or the clock is reset and you have to start over again. I am told the most common error which trips up landlords is to misquote the amount the tenant owes, on the 3 day notice. They tell me you can only list the amount of rent they are owing, don’t heap on the late charges etc. If you write this notice incorrectly, they can make you do it over, and waste more of your time.

SandyFL

**P.S. I have never personally done an eviction.
Just trying to share the knoweldge I do have.
Good luck and let us know what happens!

Re: Typical costs for evictions?? - Posted by michael

Posted by michael on May 30, 1999 at 16:54:52:

mike,