URGENT! ... Realtor and Assignments - Posted by LeAnne-WA

Posted by LeAnne-WA on August 15, 2003 at 18:35:36:

Clair-

I understood what you said, so… no worries! :slight_smile:

In this particular scenario, the seller is represented by an agent and the buyer isn’t. The buyer went to present an offer through the sellers agent, and she (the agent) wouldn’t present it to him because it contained “and/or assigns” after the buyer’s signature. The agent tried to tell the buyer it was illegal. The buyer came to me to ask b/c she knew I used to be an agent myself. What I tild her was that if the contract didn’t specifically forbid assignments, it was assignable and next time, to present it through her own agent whom would be trained in her way of thinking to begin with.

Anyway, I thank you for your reply! :slight_smile:

LeAnne

URGENT! … Realtor and Assignments - Posted by LeAnne-WA

Posted by LeAnne-WA on August 13, 2003 at 15:59:38:

A “what if” scenario-

If I write up an offer and include “and/or assigns” does the Realtor HAVE TO present my offer? Or can he/she decline to present it unless/until I take it out?

Thanks!

LeAnne

Re: URGENT! … Realtor and Assignments - Posted by Brent_IL

Posted by Brent_IL on August 13, 2003 at 22:15:28:

The entire "Does a REALTOR® have to present offers? question is moot. I would imagine that is every state he or she must present all offers. The question is, ?If he?s not on board, do you want him to??

?Mr. Seller, as your agent I have a duty to present all offers, no matter how stupid they are. This mellonhead wants to make a screwball offer, hope you are desperate enough to take it, and then assign the contract to someone you don?t know to make a quick buck at your expense. The offer is for $xxx,000. Even though I?m sure I know your answer, what do you want me to tell this idiotic shyster??