What Type of Offer Should I Make - Posted by CBWilson

Posted by Monique on June 07, 2000 at 17:27:52:

CBWilson,

I am new to this, so others with more experience may see it differently …

Just how motivated is your Seller if her asking price is FMV for House #1 and the house needs some work. The same for House #2 even though it is at a slight discount.

Also, what is your exit strategy? How do you plan to sell these houses and make your profit? Will you buy and flip – if so, you’ll need a big discount to be able to do this quickly and keep your holding costs down. Will you sell with a L/O? Will you sell with a Land Contract? Your exit strategy will have a huge impact on what you offer to make the deal work for you.

In any case, since the homes are owned free and clear, lead with Seller Financing. You should first find out how much cash she NEEDS now. Not WANTS, but needs. For example, is there a downpayment required to move into a nursing home? That amount is a NEED.

OFFER #1:
If the amount that she needs is relatively low, make an offer for that amount as a downpayment, with the balance paid in monthly (or quarterly) installments until paid off. She might appreciate having a nice income stream that she can count on receiving each and every month.

OFFER #2:
If the amount she needs is larger, you can take an approach that I learned from William Bronchick. Offer the Seller one-third of the purchase price as a downpayment if she will owner-carry. Then, get a hard money loan as a first mortgage. With a 33% LTV, you should have no problem finding a lender who will loan you this amount without proving your income or checking your credit. Use the proceeds of the hard money loan as your cash down payment, and the seller holds a 2nd mortgage for the balance.