Wholesale Flipping Question - Posted by Russ, IL

Posted by ScottE on February 23, 1999 at 07:45:31:

EH,
I did file a memorandum, but since they waited until after the scheduled closing on the contract, the memo had expired commensurate with the expected closing date.
As a former police officer, I can tell you that if some bad guy wants to get/ambush you, then they can. Even if you try your best to be careful and alert, they have an agenda and the element of surprise. This was somewhat the case, but I will not let it happen again (by getting my fee up front, etc.).
Thanks for your response.

Scott

Wholesale Flipping Question - Posted by Russ, IL

Posted by Russ, IL on February 21, 1999 at 09:38:38:

I am a relatively new investor compared to many who post here. My experience thus far has been in rental properties. In fact I have a closing tomorrow on a 3 unit that I got nothing down. (hooray for me!). I am now interested in trying to flip to other investors or rehabbers. I have been reading and studying everything I can get my hands on and I understand the general concepts and theories behind it. I seem to be getting snagged up in some of the details. For instance: What prevents the investor I’m flipping to from going to my seller behind my back and getting the property for what I’m paying the seller? Do the investor and I have another real estate contract between us or do I simply assign the first contract to the investor that I’m flipping to? If the later is true than where does my “mark up” or “finders fee” get worked in?
Anyway, I’m sorry to ramble on. I’m probably over analizing this whole thing. Any help or advice is greatly appreciated. This site is fantastic!

Thank You,
Russ

Take a lesson from me…please! - Posted by ScottE

Posted by ScottE on February 22, 1999 at 11:45:06:

Russ,